#### Texas A&M University-Commerce

### **A&M-Commerce Digital Commons**

**Browse All Subject Files** 

**University Subject Files** 

2001-10-27

## Wild With Pride Alumni Recognition Luncheon and Pep Rally

Texas A&M University-Commerce

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.tamuc.edu/scua-univ-subjects-all

#### **Recommended Citation**

Texas A&M University-Commerce, "Wild With Pride Alumni Recognition Luncheon and Pep Rally" (2001-10-27). *Browse All Subject Files*. 26.

https://digitalcommons.tamuc.edu/scua-univ-subjects-all/26

This Text is brought to you for free and open access by the University Subject Files at A&M-Commerce Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Browse All Subject Files by an authorized administrator of A&M-Commerce Digital Commons. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@tamuc.edu.

# Homecoming 2001 "Wild With Pride"



Alumni Recognition Luncheon and Pep Rally October 27, 2001

## Homecoming 2001 "Wild With Pride"

#### **Homecoming Luncheon and Pep Rally**

2001 Homecoming

Coordinator Jonette Almon

Alumni Representatives
Judy Anderson
Dee Faires
Peggy Fox
Dr. Trezzie Pressley

Student Representatives
Denise Jernigan, Coordinator

Julie Alexander Summer Allen Amanda Arledge Mandi Brown Erin Brunson Heather Colombin LeeAnn Dodson

Danna Freeman Johnny Hernandez Brittany Honeycutt Dixie Houser Kimberly Hulsey

Julie Jay Sean Kendall Mary Mahaffey Mary Miller Ian Moreau Hillary Munsch Melissa Partney

Melissa Partney Monica Pollard Autumn Powers Erin Roberts Matt Rosenbalm Jennifer Schoech Jenny Varnell

Cody Wooden

Faculty & Staff
Dr. James Conrad

Mary Lou Hazal
Louis Margot
Connie Mears
Paul Peak
Kayla Price
Donna Thomas

11:00 a.m.

**Texas Ballroom** 

Sam Rayburn Memorial Student Center

Emcee

Ms. Kayla Price

Director, Alumni Relations

Executive Director, Alumni Association

Luncheon Buffet

Spirit Rally

Coed Cheerleading Squad

Welcome

Dr. Keith McFarland

President and Chief Executive Officer, A&M-Commerce

Introductions

Ms. Price

Presentation of Homecoming Court Ms. Denise Jernigan Student Coordinator, Homecoming Committee

Recognition of Honored Class

Ms. Price

Introduction of Gold

Blazer Award Recipient Mr. Gary D. Finney

President, A&M-Commerce

Alumni Association

Response

Mrs. Diane LaFerney McDowell

Introduction of

Distinguished Alumnus Dr. McFarland

Response

Dr. Mike Moses

Adjournment

Ms. Price

#### Gold Blazer Award

The Gold Blazer award is given annually to a member of The Texas A&M University-Commerce Alumni Association for extraordinary service to The Association and the University.



# Gold Blazer Award Recipient Diane LaFerney McDowell

Diane LaFerney McDowell received her Bachelor of Science degree in psychology in 1969 and her Master of Science degree in counseling in 1998 from Texas A&M University-Commerce. She was employed with the Dallas County Clerk's Office in 1969, with the Department of Urban Rehabilitation, city of Dallas in 1970, served as director of the Retired Senior Volunteer Program at Paris Junior College from 1988 until 1991 and as a classroom teacher at North Lamar High School in Paris from 1991 until 1997. Mrs. McDowell then began her counseling career, serving as counselor at Lancaster High School, at Paris High School and currently at Commerce High School.

Mrs. McDowell worked diligently as a volunteer for Kappa Delta Sorority beginning in 1971 and culminating with her election as National Collegiate Vice President from 1981 until 1989. She was also actively

involved with several civic organizations in Paris, Texas, between 1984 and 1997.

She is a member of several professional organizations and has been honored with the designation of Who's Who Among American Teachers, Outstanding Young Women of America, and was one of five Outstanding Senior Women at East Texas State University in 1969.

Mrs. McDowell is actively involved with the University. She is a member of the A&M-Commerce Alumni Association Board of Directors, having served as secretary, and volunteers many hours assisting with graduation receptions, Homecoming registration, Lion Nights and alumni receptions.

A resident of Commerce, Mrs. McDowell has two grown sons, Danny and Mark.

## The Distinguished Alumnus Citation

The Distinguished Alumnus Citation is given annually to a person, or persons, who have achieved extraordinary distinction in their chosen business, profession, life's work, or worthy endeavor.



# Distinguished Alumnus Dr. Michael A. Moses

Dr. Michael A. Moses has served in Texas public education for more than 25 years, starting as a teacher and administrator in the Duncanville and Garland school districts. He then served as superintendent for the Lubbock, La Marque and Tatum school districts.

From 1995 to 1999, he held the position of Texas Commissioner of Education, having been twice appointed by Governor George W. Bush and twice confirmed by the Texas Senate. Then, in 1999, he joined the Texas Tech University System as deputy chancellor with responsibility for governmental relations, development and institutional advancement, linkages between public education and the Texas Tech University System, news and publications, and the Chancellor's Council. Dr. Moses became superintendent of the Dallas Independent School District in 2001.

A native of Nacogdoches, Dr. Moses earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from Stephen F.

Austin State University. He received his doctorate from Texas A&M University-Commerce in 1980 and attended the Superintendents' Work Conference at Columbia University.

He is the author and co-author of a number of articles on student performance, accountability, and teacher preparation and has given more than 600 speeches to education, business, civic and community groups. He has appeared before legislative committees on over 30 occasions and was invited to address the United States Congress freshman class concerning issues in public education.

Among awards Dr. Moses has received are the Texas Business and Education Coalition's Distinguished Service Award and Texas A&M University's Golden Deeds Award in Education. Former Texas Governor George W. Bush has said that of the more than 3,000 appointments he made while in office, the appointment of Mike Moses as Commissioner of Education was the "best appointment that I have ever made."

The Texas School Public Relations Association awarded Dr. Moses its 1998 Key Communicator for Public Education award, and both the National and Texas PTA have presented him with life memberships. He also was selected School Superintendent of the Year in two of Texas' educational regions.

Dr. Moses and his wife, Debi, a former public school teacher, are active in church and civic organizations and the parents of two sons, Mitchell and Mason.

#### Texas A&M University-Commerce Alumni Association Board of Directors

Gary D. Finney, President Janet Estes Peek, Vice President Dwight York, Secretary/Treasurer Kayla Price, Executive Director

Judy Anderson Rene Castilla Dr. Sharon Chambers Dr. Kenneth L. Clinton, Jr. James Cowley William L. Crabtree, Jr. Dian Fife Arthur C. Fleming Kenneth A. Foust Maria Havnes Dr. Jan Huffstutler W. Jerry Hyde Rheba Icenhower Dr. Randy McBroom Diane LaFerney McDowell Donna Crowell Newkirk Beverly Lytle Pirkey Harry B. Power Sue Whitehead Shanks Dixie L. Stachowiak Jandy Jo Thompson Dr. Patricia Turner Robert L. Whitener, III R. Winston Williams

Dr. Madeline Justice, Faculty Senate Representative, Ex-Officio Jana Sandall, President of Student Body, Ex-Officio Chris Adams, Foundation Board Representative

#### **Alumni Relations Staff**

Kayla Price, Director Jonette Almon, Assistant Director Linda Bobbitt, Administrative Assistant Emily Herriage, Student Assistant Bhagyalaxmi Shilagani, Graduate Assistant